Mount Vernon News


By Mount Vernon News
January 20, 2012 11:51 am EST


MOUNT VERNON — Republican candidates vying for posts in the upcoming March 6 primary election faced voters last night at a candidates’ night sponsored by the Knox County Republican Women’s Club at The Alcove Restaurant.

Candidates for Knox County Sheriff and county treasurer appeared at their second town meeting in as many weeks, and they were joined by contenders for county commissioners and the Ohio House of Representatives’ reapportioned 68th District.

Each candidate was given time for an opening statement, followed by questions from the audience.

Seeking voter support for the commissioner seat that will be vacated by Commissioner President Allen Stockberger at the end of the year are Thom Collier of Mount Vernon, Shirley Fletcher of Butler and Tim Smith of Fredericktown.

Collier, who served eight years in the Ohio House before being term-limited in 2008, emphasized both his time as a State Representative and as a businessman.

“Once you’re bitten by the public service bug it stays with you, Collier said. “I would like to put my experience in public service and in business to work for you.”

Fletcher, a former county commissioner and local businesswoman, focused her remarks on the issue of fracking and brine storage in Knox County.

“I want to be a watchdog on that issue,” she said. “I’ve done a lot of research on the topic and have spoken quite a bit to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.”

Commissioner candidate Smith, an area Realtor who has previously run unsuccessfully for the office, was unable to attend last night’s gathering.

The winner of the Republican primary contest will face Democrat John Booth of Mount Vernon in this fall’s general election.

For the full story, click here for the January 20, 2012 e-edition. The article will only be available for thirty (30) days.

Contact Bill Amick

Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your laguage decent.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.