Mount Vernon News
Daniel Long, left, and Josh Endsley received Administrative Award medals at the 2012 Knox Learning Center Awards Ceremony.
Daniel Long, left, and Josh Endsley received Administrative Award medals at the 2012 Knox Learning Center Awards Ceremony. (Photo by )

By Mount Vernon News
June 1, 2012 12:01 pm EDT


MOUNT VERNON — Determination and hard work were rewarded May 22 during the Knox County Learning Center’s awards ceremony as family and friends joined staff members to celebrate the successes of the students and to applaud them as they received medals in recognition of their accomplishments this school year.

“This was awesome,” Learning Center principal Quinn Haas said of the awards banquet, the first one since the reconfiguration of the Alternative Center. “I like seeing the students so happy. They don’t get positive recognition very often. A lot of times people overlook the good things with our kids. They have so many good qualities. ... We are showing a lot of success and I am proud of our kids and our staff.”

Daniel Long was a multiple-medalist at the event. “It feels great,” he said. “I did work really hard to get these. The Learning Center was a really good change for me. I liked working in the virtual school and the after school program. It was a lot of fun.”

Becky Devore’s son, Chris, also earned several medals. “I’m so excited,” she said. “He’s done so well, and he’s walking with the high school [graduation] and that’s something we never, ever expected. His academics were so good this year.”

2012 medalists included the following:

Administrative Award — Josh Endsley and Daniel Long.

Art Awards — CiCi Alvarez, Dakota Farra, Amanda Good, Asia Price, Donte Torres and Lisa Turbeville.

Grandma Betty/Tutor Award — Tiffany Weatherbee.

Best Attendance — Mark Avery, Savannah Carpenter, Chris Devore, Antonio Easley, Chris Elswick, Alex Salazar, Paul Scott, Tyler Smith, Tiffany Weatherbee and Andrew Wilson.

Academic Achievement — CiCi Alvarez, Mark Avery, Don Barrick, Miranda Black, Richard Cantu, Alex Dyer, Marissa Harris, Daniel Long, Blaine Pflieger, Hunter Phillips, Cindy Rennie, Logan Rothgeb, Scott Schaade, Tanya Senter, Jamie Stoutenburgh, Chad Stroud, Uriah White and Andrew Wilson.

Career Center Acceptance — Chris Devore, Isaac Green, Lloyd Johnson, Seth Reynolds and Alex Salazar.

Most Improved — Will Atwell, Caleb Carpenter, Jacob Coscia, Kyrus Daniels, Dakota Eckert, Lonnie Ferrell, Isaac Hoxworth, Lloyd Johnson, Seth Reynolds and Maxwell Wright.

Exemplary Behavior — Don Barrick, Chris Devore, Josh Endsley, Amanada Good, Colton Hill, Daniel Long, Alex Salazar, Tanya Senter and Uriah White.

Military Interest Award — Scott Kisling.

Classroom Awards — Don Barrick, Miranda Black, Chris Devore, Colton Hill, Jordan Kelley, Daniel Long, Alex Salazar and Uriah White.

A.S.A.P. Awards — Daniel Long, rewards program, and Alex Salazar, weight-lifting program.

P.R.E.P. Academy graduates — Don Barrick, Chris Devore, Josh Endsley, Ryan Llewellyn, Joshua Parker and Lisa Turbeville.

Virtual Academy graduates — Alan Clark, Marissa Harris, Christian Jayjohn, Josh Levings, Daniel Long, Richard Mullins, Hunter Phillips, Cindy Rennie, Matthew Salinas, Tiffany Weatherbee and Dakota Wolfe.

College Acceptance — Daniel Long, Ohio Technical College.

The awards ceremony was held in the auditorium of the First Church of the Nazarene and dinner was catered and served by volunteers from the West Side Church of the Nazarene.


Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent.
Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.