Mount Vernon News
Mount Vernon News
January 8, 2013 9:21 am EST


MOUNT VERNON — Two employees and two volunteers of the CES Credit Union received awards from their peers at the 2012 CES Credit Union Employee and Volunteer Recognition event held recently. The honorees were announced by Sandy Coffing, Vice President of Operations and Kelly Schermerhorn, CEO.


LJJA Martial Arts


Matthew R. Smith, Director of Information Technology, was presented with the Employee of the Year Award for CES Credit Union. Smith has been employed with CES Credit Union since 2005 and was instrumental in several recent technological and processing upgrades and conversions. He was recognized for keeping the member’s experience as a priority. Smith resides near Utica.

Jessica Pew received the Spirit Award from CES Credit Union for her positive impact across multiple departments. Currently serving as Accounts Payable/General Ledger Clerk, Pew has been with CES for two years, and has worked in both the Chestnut Street Center and in the Accounting Department. Pew was honored for her professionalism and willingness to cooperate across departments. Pew lives in Danville with her husband, Mason, and a son.

Terry Scott and Nelson Litzenberg were named “Volunteers of the Year” by the all-volunteer Board of Directors and the Supervisory Committee for CES Credit Union. Scott presently is the Vice-Chairperson for the Board of Directors, and lives in Mount Vernon where he is the Auditor for the City of Mount Vernon. Litzenberg serves on the Supervisory Committee, and reports findings to the Board of Directors. He lives near Centerburg with his wife, Judy. They have two grown children.

All of the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Committee serve the credit union membership in a volunteer capacity. The board is elected by the membership of the credit union.

CES Credit Union also honored employees that have reached milestones in their credit union careers, including David Bell, Ashley Lemmer, Colleen Kelly and Jennifer Latham for three years of service; and Elizabeth Black, Sarah Bridges, Laura Davis, Mary Jo Devine, Eydie Glasstetter, Tammy Lahmon-Coakley, Wendy Marsell, Cherie Mott and Angela Shaffer for five years of service.

Kathy Robinson, Utica Center Manager, marked 20 years of service.

Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.
Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.