Mount Vernon News


Show Events for: in Category:


Alcove Restaurant
116 South Main Street
Mount Vernon, OH 43050
(740) 392-3076



  • Thursday, March 3, 2011 - 5:30 PM
Google Calendar
  • Print
  • E-mail

MOUNT VERNON — The Heritage Centre Association will hold its Annual Awards Banquet on Thursday, upstairs at The Alcove Restaurant, 116 S. Main St.

The businesses and individuals up for awards are nominated by the HCA membership, with the top three listed on the final ballots, also voted on by the HCA membership.

The evening will begin with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner and the awards presentation with Thom Collier serving as as master of ceremonies.

The nominees in the Small Business category are Good Impressions, I-Conn Video Productions and Y-Not Cycling & Fitness.

The nominees for Medium Business of the Year Award are Donley Ford, Henry’s Copper Curry and The Parkside Restaurant & Tavern.

The nominees for Large Business of Year Award are Ariel Corp., Ellis Brothers Concrete and the Mount Vernon News.

All of these businesses have made great contributions to the success of downtown and the Heritage Centre Association through their continued support, said Lynne Ricard, downtown manager.

The Spirit of Heritage Award is presented to the volunteer who has given significant amounts of time, energy, and leadership to improve the vitality of downtown Mount Vernon during the year. The nominees for the 2010 award are all valuable volunteers for the organization. They are Dee Allerding, Jeff Boucher and Mike Hillier. Hillier was also the 2009 winner of this honor.

Thursday’s program will also honor the recipient of the Walter Rudin Award, to be presented by last year’s recipient Mount Vernon Mayor Richard Mavis. The Walter Rudin Award is presented to an individual in honor of his or her long-term commitment to downtown Mount Vernon and the community. It is given to an individual who over the years has made significant contributions to downtown Mount Vernon and the Heritage Centre Association.

The past recipients of this award choose the winner each year. Previous winners are Walter Rudin, Sally Wright, Tom Metcalf, Kay Culbertson, Barbara Barry, Corby Wise, Sara Pifer and Richard Mavis.

For more information about HCA membership and its activities, contact Ricard at 393-1481.

Published on March 1, 2011


Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.

Calendar displays events listed in the sub categories and parent categories of the selected category