Mount Vernon News
 

 

Show Events for: in Category:

 

Knox County

Mount Vernon, OH 43050

Directions

 

  • Friday, November 11, 2011 - All Day

  • Saturday, November 12, 2011 - All Day

  • Sunday, November 13, 2011 - All Day

  • Monday, November 14, 2011 - All Day

  • Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - All Day

  • Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - All Day

  • Thursday, November 17, 2011 - All Day

  • Friday, November 18, 2011 - All Day

  • Saturday, November 19, 2011 - All Day

  • Sunday, November 20, 2011 - All Day

  • Monday, November 21, 2011 - All Day

  • Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - All Day

  • Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - All Day

  • Thursday, November 24, 2011 - All Day

  • Friday, November 25, 2011 - All Day

  • Saturday, November 26, 2011 - All Day

  • Sunday, November 27, 2011 - All Day

  • Monday, November 28, 2011 - All Day

  • Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - All Day

  • Wednesday, November 30, 2011 - All Day

  • Thursday, December 1, 2011 - All Day

  • Friday, December 2, 2011 - All Day

Google Calendar
  • Print
  • E-mail

MOUNT VERNON -- Elementary and middle school students are fighting hunger in Knox County. The 2011 Food For The Hungry School Food Drive is well underway with the help of the Psi Iota Xi Sorority. Donations will benefit the 30th annual Food For The Hungry Drive.

The children are demonstrating that you are never too young to make a difference. Each classroom has been supplied with collection boxes, and donations may be made until Dec. 2.

During last year’s Food For The Hungry Drive, elementary and middle school students across Knox County collected 7,867 non-perishable food items and $5,786.40 This year, the classroom in each participating school that contributes the highest number of food items per student will be treated to a pizza party. Cash donations are welcome. Each $1 donated will be equal to four food items. Checks should be made payable to Food For The Hungry.

The top donor from each school will be invited to participate in the Food For The Hungry live broadcast at City Hall on Saturday, Dec. 10. The students will be recognized on Time Warner Cable (channel 9), as well as on 13WMVO with reports given on WNZR 90.9 FM and Eagle 93.7 FM. Each will receive gifts, compliments of Waize’s of Mount Vernon.

All food and donations will be distributed through Interchurch Social Services and The Salvation Army to meet the needs of our community. Donations will directly benefit the communities where the food is collected.

For more information about fighting hunger in Knox County visit FoodForTheHungryCares.org.

Published on November 11, 2011

 


Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.

Calendar displays events listed in the sub categories and parent categories of the selected category